February 21, 2019

Lions Fellowships

Birch-Sturm Award (Est. 1990) 
In 1990, the Birch-Sturm Fellowship was created by the Wisconsin Lions Foundation to honor those individuals who exemplify undying dedication and commitment to Lionism. The Fellowship is named after Wisconsin’s only International Presidents, Frank V. Birch and Clarence L. Sturm who were great supporters of the Foundation.

Ronald Husby – 1999
Robert Mersch – 2001
Dennis Olson – 2001
Gerald Olson – 2001
Gary Brummeyer – 2005
Howard Buss – 2005
Lloyd Eiseth – 2005
Terry Giertz – 2006
Merlin Nevala – 2006
Len Frank – 2007
Rob Sinz – 2013
Dean Larson – 2013
Bill Grambo – 2013
Gene Hagen – 2014
Patrick Furry – 2015

Melvin Jones Fellowship (Est. 1973) 
The Melvin Jones Fellowship (MJF) recognizes donations of US $1,000. It is the backbone of LCIF, providing 75% of the foundation’s revenue. As a recognition of humanitarian work, an MJF is an honor presented to those who donate US $1,000 to LCIF or to people for whom a donation was made by others.
Contributions can be made by individuals (Including non-Lions), clubs, or districts. Donations may be in one sum, or in installments of a minimum of US $100 over a five-year period. Melvin Jones Fellows receive an attractive lapel pin, a plaque, and a congratulatory letter.

Len Amberg
Kenneth Gifford
Herbert Schutz – 1987
John Kraft – 1992
Ronald Husby – 1993
Howard Buss – 1995
Richard Clack – 1995
Wallace Cutler – 1995
Ron Hastings – 1995
Lynos Hendrickson – 1995
Lawrence Michelbook – 1995
Richard Oldfield – 1995
Dennis Olson – 1995
Murrell Price – 1995
Ted Richartz 1995
Harold Tubbs – 1995
Arden Alexander – 1996
Gary Brummeyer – 1996
Willard Hintz – 1996
Max Tritt – 1996
Theodore Wiehe – 1996
Robert Muza – 1997
David Barnard – 2000
Helmer Debee Jr – 2000
Lloyd Eiseth – 2000
Jack Bowman – 2001
Dean Lecheler – 2001
Greg Mittlestadt – 2001
Richard Morrison – 2003
Brad Waznik – 2003
Richard Weber – 2003
Monsignor Charles Blecha – 2005
Alan Helgeson – 2005
Patti Irwin – 2005
James Wahl – 2005
David Enestvedt – 2006
Ron Jordan – 2006
Mauice Michelbook – 2006
Marshall Schaefer – 2006
Jan Kademan – 2009
Daniel Smith – 2009
Dave Kreutzer – 2013
Pat Sandness – 2013
Tod Sinz – 2013
Steve Splitter – 2013
Ed Hanke -2014
Rick Kostuch – 2015
Rob Sinz – 2015

Knight of Sight Fellowship
The Knight of Sight Fellowship award can be achieved through an individual or Lions Club cash donation of $1,000 or more. Your name will be prominently and permanently displayed on the Lions Eye Bank of Wisconsin Knight of Sight Wall of Honor, and will also be recognized in the next LEBW Annual Report.
The Knight of Sight is the Lions Eye Bank of Wisconsin’s highest form of recognition presented to an individual by their club, zone, group or district. Recipients of the Knight of Sight Award exemplify the LEBW’s mission to give the Gift of Sight in Wisconsin, the United States, and internationally.

Helmer Debee Jr – 2006
Glenn Frank – 2006
Menomonie Lions Club – 2006
Gary Brummeyer – 2012
Len Frank – 2014
Dick Clack – 2014
Dan Smith -2014
Dave Kreutzer – 2015

Ray Hempel Fellowship

Ray Hempel was an outstanding individual who made a big difference in the Lions community and the world. In 1952, Lion Ray was in the hospital visiting two blind 12-year old boys. The group started talking about the great outdoors and Lion Ray asked if they ever attended camp. One of the boys responded with these famous words, “blind kids can’t go to outdoor camp and stuff like that.”

After the conversation, Lion Ray began imagining a camp that would provide an outdoor experience for blind children. He was an enthusiastic camper and Boy Scout Leader and thought everyone deserved to experience nature at its finest. In 1956, the Wisconsin Lions Camp was born. Since its development, the camp has touched the lives of thousands of children and adults with special needs.

Each and every day, Lions and Lionesses are making a difference in the lives of others, in their communities and the world. Do you know someone who goes above and beyond the call of duty? We encourage you to nominate that outstanding individual with the Ray Hempel Fellowship Award.

A Hempel Fellowship contribution of $1000 will be deposited into the permanent Lions Pride Endowment Fund, which helps support Lions Camp and other Wisconsin Lions Foundation state projects for both today and tomorrow.
Pat Sandness – 2016
Brian Sandness – 2016